top of page

A three year holiday

I came to Korea for three months, but that was three years ago. A few of my closest University friends were enjoying Korean life and after a year of Facebook updates, photos and emails telling me how amazing Seoul was, I decided it was time to see for myself. I hand​​ed in my notice to the video production company I worked for in Dublin and started researching English teaching positions. After a couple of weeks I signed a contract with a Kindergarten school in Hongdae, Seoul. I packed for a long holiday and a big adventure. I left a wardrobe full of dresses and shoes at home, sure I would be back in a few weeks, there was no need to bring the kitchen sink and all that.

Leaving my beautiful hometown in Ireland was not easy. I have a loving family - which includes wonderfully unique parents, two beautiful sisters, a special little orange dog and three cute black cats. Not to mention my amazing childhood friends and a career that was gradually (albeit slowly) growing. So I told myself it will just be a long holiday, or at most a one year experience. I waved Au Revoir to my loved ones and told my local newspaper “The Sligo Weekender” to make sure they still had a job for me upon my return.

Now I'm hitting on my third year here, I'm married to a Korean man and we have an adorable Jindo pup. 'How did that happen?' Honestly I don't know! It's been one crazy, exhilarating experience from the moment my feet first touched down at Incheon airport. I’ve said hello and goodbye to many new friends, attempted to learn a new language, starred in TV commercials with Kpop idols, become attached to each of the children I have taught. I’ve cried myself silly because I miss my family, had numerous cultural based arguments and I’ve become the first non-Korean member of a very traditional family.

Through this blog I will retrace my steps and share all of my wonderful and difficult experiences with you. Being a foreigner in a ‘strange land’ is a fun experience filled with random encounters, but as all of us know life comes with its ups and downs.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page